This will be the Spanish capital of gastronomy in 2024

by Lorraine Williamson
Oviedo gastronomy

Oviedo is the Spanish Capital of Gastronomy in 2024. This was decided by the jury in charge of awarding this prestigious recognition, with the Asturian city staying ahead of the applications of the other three candidates: Alicante, Antequera and Castellón.

With this, Oviedo succeeds Cuenca. The prize is awarded by the FEPET (Spanish Federation of Tourism Journalists and Writers), in collaboration with Hostelería de España. The recognition is the reward for effort and perseverance. The result of a solid entry supported by an impressive range of culinary and tourist activities. Oviedo could also count on great support from the institutions and the hospitality sector, which are committed to the project.

Standard-bearer of Asturian cuisine

During the decision, the jury stressed that Oviedo deserves to be Spanish Capital of Gastronomy 2024 because “Oviedo is the standard-bearer of Asturian cuisine, a cuisine that conquers with dishes such as fabada (Asturian bean stew), the traditional cachopo (meat with ham and cheese in it) or its unrivalled cheeses and excellent seafood.”

Praise also came for the excellent application dossier submitted by Oviedo. This included the six protected designations of origin and the four protected geographical indications, as well as numerous organic products and products recognised under the ‘Alimentos del Paraíso Natural’ brand of the Principality of Asturias.

Cogesa Expats

Year of events

Throughout 2024, there will be many events, from sectoral congresses, gastronomic days, meetings and public events. This is a boost that will add to the already good tourism figures the city has achieved in recent years.

What does the title entail?

This annual event was created in 2012 by the Spanish Federation of Tourism Journalists and Writers (FEPET). Together with the Spanish Hospitality Federation, it was to recognise the city (or community) that has stood out the most in promoting gastronomy as a tourist attraction. To date, winners include the following;

  • Logroño (2012)
  • Burgos (2013)
  • Vitoria (2014)
  • Cáceres (2015)
  • Toledo (2016)
  • Huelva (2017)
  • León (2018)
  • Almería (2019)
  • Región de Murcia (2020 and 2021)
  • Sanlúcar de Barrameda (2022)
  • Cuenca (2023)

Also read: Cuenca is the new gastronomic capital of Spain in 2023

Baycrest Wealth

You may also like