Three games in and 10 red cards

by Lorraine Williamson
red cards

FOOTBALL – Just over one week into the new La Liga season, and already we have some surprises and upsets. Including 10 red cards!

Newcomers, Mallorca won their game on Thursday against 10-man Espanyol, after Dani Rodriguez opened up the scoreline just 27 minutes in. Currently, they are joint top of the table. From the first three games, they have won two and the other was a draw. They are 3rd to Sevilla and Valencia on goal difference.


Previous La Liga winners, Atletico have yet to play their third game. They play at home tomorrow against Villa Real. They are currently 4th in the table, but a win tomorrow would take them to the number one position.


Barcelona also play at home on Sunday. Currently, in 8th position, let’s see if they can pull something out of the bag when they face Getafe at the bottom end of the table. They will be without centre-back, Eric Garcia who was given a red card in their game last Saturday against Athletic Club. So far Barcelona has an impressive 5 goals behind them, but they have conceded 3.

Top scorers

So far this season Angel Correa of Atletico has scored three goals for his team. Also, top of the table with 3 goals each are Erik Lamela of Sevilla and Vini Jr of Real Madrid. Last season, the top scorer was Luis Suarez. However, so far this season, he is yet to score for Atletico. Suarez picked up a yellow card in his first game of the season and came on as a sub in the second.

Real Madrid

Real Madrid play later this evening away to Real Betis. Their last game against Levante produced 6 goals – 3 goals apiece with Aitor Fernandez of Levante being sent off in the final minutes.


Sevilla drew 1-1 in their game against Elche today which has gained them joint top of the league, but ahead on goal difference.

Red cards

So far there have been 10 red cards issued in this explosive start to the season. They are;

Levante – Aitor Fernandez

Barcelona – Eric Garcia

Getafe –  Erik Cabaco

Valencia – Hugo Guillamon

Celta Vigo – Hugo Mallo

Villarreal – Juan Foyth

Rayo Vallecano – Luca Zidane

Atletico Madrid – Mario Hermoso

Alaves – Ruben Duarte

Espanyol – Sergi Gomez


You may also like