Spain tightens entry rules for some EU travellers

by Deborah Cater
Spain's high-risk list

Travellers from Finland and several regions of the Czech Republic, Poland, Greece and Italy face tougher measures for entry into Spain. Travellers from regions on Spain’s high-risk list now require a Covid Green pass or equivalent to enter.

Spain has tightened entry rules for several areas within Europe due to rising contagions in those parts.

According to the latest figures published by the Spanish Ministry of Health, the new classification of countries and regions became effective on 18th October. It remains in force until 24th October, reports.

Whole of Finland on high-risk list

Travellers from Finland are now subject to additional entry rules when travelling to Spain. The Spanish authorities placed the whole of the country on the high-risk areas list.

Previously, only four regions of Finland were part of this list. However, since the coronavirus situation has worsened, now the entire territory of Finland is considered highly affected.

Other regions added to Spain’s high-risk list

As well as Finland, several other regions are now on Spain’s high-risk list. These regions are:

Regions of Czech Republic: Jihovýchod, Severovýchod, Severozápad, and Střední Morava

Regions of Poland: Mazowiecki, Warmińsko-Mazurskie

Region of Greece: Central Greece

Region of Italy: Aosta

ASSSA - health insurance in Spain

In line with Spain’s current entry rules, all travellers from one of the high-risk list regions/countries must provide proof of vaccination against the COVID-19 disease or proof of recovery. In case travellers don’t hold any of these two documents, they need to present a negative COVID-19 test result in order to enter the country.

As well as those mentioned above, the high-risk list also includes other EU and Schengen Area countries. These are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, and Romania.

As for Denmark, three of its regions – North Jutland, Hovedstaden and Zealand – continue to remain part of the high-risk list.

Italy now has the following regions on the high-risk list: Aosta, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Marche, Autonomous Province of Bolzano/Bozen, Sicily, Tuscany and Veneto.

The full high-risk list can be found here.

Removed from the high-risk list

However, four French regions – Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, Centre-Val de Loire, Grand Est, La Réunion – are no longer on the high-risk list. This means that all those travelling to or from one of these regions don’t need to follow additional COVID-19 rules.

In addition, the entry rules have also been eased for two Norwegian regions – Rogaland and Agder. For Norway, the high-risk list includes these regions: Oslo, Troms and Finnmark, Viken, Agder, Innlandet, Møre og Romsdal, Nordland, Rogaland, Trøndelag and Vestfold and Telemark.

Other than the changes mentioned above, all other regions and countries remain as they were on the previous week’s list.

Outside Europe – third countries

The Ministry also announced Bahrein and the United Arab Emirates make the list of third countries considered epidemiologically safe in terms of their COVID-19 risk.

The list also includes Saudi Arabia, Australia, Canada, Chile, China, South Korea, Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Singapore, Ukraine, Uruguay, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan.

You may also like