Spain extends mandatory quarantine country list

by admin
Mandatory quarantine list extended

Spain extends the list of countries subject to a mandatory ten-day quarantine when travellers arrive at a Spanish airport. The aim is to prevent the spread of the Brazilian and South African variants of Covid-19.

The Spanish news site La Sexta reported the Ministry of Health is currently working on a decree imposing a mandatory quarantine for travellers from twelve countries. Spain previously insisted travellers from Brazil and South Africa quarantine after arriving at one of the Spanish airports.

Ten countries in Latin America and Africa added to Spain list

Specifically, Spain wants to add the following countries to the list of high-risk countries: Peru, Colombia, Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Zambia, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and the Comoros. The ten countries join South Africa and Brazil, countries that Spain previously labelled as high-risk countries.

Cogesa Expats

All travellers arriving from these countries at any airport in Spain must undertake mandatory quarantine for ten days to prevent the spread of Covid-19, especially the South African and Brazilian variants. However, a negative test on day 7 will shorten the quarantine period. 

New measure will take effect on March 8

For the time being, the Spanish government plans to have this measure take effect on March 8 at 00:00. This rule applies for fourteen days; the Ministry can extend it if deemed necessary.

New Spanish decree does not apply to aviation personnel

According to the ministerial order, this rule will apply to travellers arriving in Spain by air from one of these countries, whether there is a stopover or not. Aviation personnel are excluded as they have their own protocol.

You may also like