Real Madrid wins Copa del Rey for 20th time

by Lorraine Williamson
Real Madrid - Copa del Rey winners 2023

FOOTBALL – Real Madrid won the Copa del Rey for the 20th time at the Estadio de La Cartuja in Sevilla on Saturday. The team lived up to the favourites in the thrilling final, beating Osasuna 2-1. 

Osasuna believed in victory until the end after a goal by Lucas Torró brought the teams level. Unfortunately, the win passed them by when Brazilian Rodrygo Goes scored his second goal, and ultimately, the winner of the match. The ‘Merengues’, or ‘Los Blancos’ as the Madrid players are also called, took full advantage of their experience in this kind of match. In the end, it was Los Blancos who added to their trophy cabinet. This was their 20th Copa del Rey trophy, the first since 2014, the only title Ancelotti ‘missed’ in his second spell at the helm. Last year´s winners were Real Betis.

Vini Junior

After the tremendous whistling of the national anthem by the full Osasuna crowd, the match started in style for Real Madrid. As early as the second minute, Rodrygo scored after a good move by Vinícius Júnior. However, the first half ended with a yellow card for Vinicius for protesting an action. 


In the second half, Osasuna bit off fiercely. Osasuna equalised through a goal by Torró and came close to a win just like in 2005. The Osasuna supporters were delirious.

Cogesa Expats

However, in the closing stages, Real Madrid managed to make it 2-1. Again it was Rodrygo who scored.  

The line-up and goals 

Final score: Real Madrid, 2 – Osasuna 1 (halftime score 1-0).  

Real Madrid: Courtois; Carvajal, Militao, Alaba, Camavinga; Tchouameni (Rüdiger, min.69), Kroos (Modric, min.80), Valverde; Rodrygo (Asensio, min.88), Benzema and Vinicius.  

Osasuna: Herrera; Peña (Kike Barja, min.75), Aridane, David García, Cruz; Moncayola, Torró (Ibáñez, min.86), Oroz, Moi Gómez (Kike García, min.86); Abde (Rubén García, min.75) and Budimir (‘Chimy’ Ávila, min.70). 


You may also like