La Liga champions, FC Barcelona flee from angry fans

by Lorraine Williamson
angry fans

Despite still having four games to play, FC Barcelona became the 2022/23 La Liga champions on Sunday. Having gained all 3 points in their away derby win against Espanyol, they began celebrating their victory at the final whistle. However, this did not last long as angry Espanyol ‘fans’ stormed the field to attack the players.

Barcelona won 2-4 against city rival Espanyol on Sunday evening netting their 27th La Liga title.

Despite Espanyol starting strong, Lewandowski scored his first of 2 goals just 11 minutes into the game. Then, less than 10 minutes later, Balde (who set up Lewandowski) put the ball in the net to score Barça`s second. This was the first goal for Barcelona by the 19-year-old. A few minutes later, Lewandowski almost scored again. By this point, Espanyol were frantic. But 5 minutes before half time, and Lewandowski claimed his second goal. The first half finished 0-3.

Second half

Eight minutes into the second half, and assisted by De Jong, Koundé made it 0-4 for Barcelona. However, 20 minutes later, Espanyol pull one back when Puado put the ball past Ter Stegen to make it 1-4. Only 2 minutes were added to the 90, but in the final seconds, Joselu got a second for the home side.

Espanyol fans leave the stadium earlier due to defeat 

However, before the final goal was scored, part of Espanyol’s supporters had already left the stadium as defeat was inevitable. 

ASSSA - health insurance in Spain

With this win, Barcelona had 85 points, putting them 14 points ahead of rivals Real Madrid. Although Barça still have four games remaining to play this season, it is now not mathematically possible to be overtaken by the competition. 

Barcelona players had to run from angry fans

The players and staff of Barcelona therefore celebrated their victory on the centre spot after the match had ended. However, this did not last long because Espanyol ‘fans’ stormed onto the pitch to attack the Barcelona players. Xavi Hernández’s players quickly realised that they were about to be attacked by dozens of Espanyol supporters and took a sprint towards the away team’s tunnel. 

Angry supporters of Espanyol, a club fighting relegation, then turned their anger on Spanish press and camera crews. 

Spanish media full of praise for FC Barcelona coach Xavi 

Trainer Xavi Hernández celebrates his first major success as coach of Barcelona with this national title. In his seventeen years as a player for the club, he also won La Liga championship title eight times. In November 2021, Xavi succeeded Dutchman Ronald Koeman after his dismissal at Camp Nou. The Spanish media are full of praise for Hernández as he left FC Barcelona as a legendary player and is now at the start of a successful career as manager of the club. 

Xavi Hernández is the fifth in a row to win La Liga title as a player and as a coach. Only legends like Josep Samitier, Johan Cruyff, Pep Guardiola and Luis Enrique have achieved this before. 

You may also like